Addicted to sugar

 

All my life I’ve been on a diet. They have worked a couple of times, but with both pregnancies I have gained around 3 stone. All my own work. I’m an emotional eater and hormones aren’t my friend, however, the biscuit tin is! I crave chocolate or biscuits when I’m down, nervous or stressed. But why do I get so much comfort from sweet treats? 

I lost the weight slowly but surely after Faye but I’m really struggling this time. I blame age and little spare time. In the past, I have tried my hardest and cut out everything I enjoy including bread, pasta and potatoes. What’s left? It’s no wonder it doesn’t last. So I decided, enough of this restrictive eating, simply eat healthy and cut back on sweet treats. I was much happier in myself knowing that I could enjoy everything in moderation and I would be a healthier person and hopefully slim down. With this new healthy lifestyle in mind I picked up a copy of The Sugar Free Diet Recipe Book from the supermarket for some new ideas. By coincidence, the following week there was a documentary on BBC 1 The Truth About Sugar.

Surprised at what we had learned from the book and the programme I realised, after all these years, that I was most definitely addicted to sugar. It scared me because it is more addictive and readily available than most drugs. Hold on, I’m giving this to my children. Something has to change.

I’m sure most of you would agree that we are focused on cutting fat when trying to be healthy, when really we are ignoring the sugar content. And in actual fact, most low fat products contain lots of sugar to make it taste better. When I actually got time to look at the ingredients that make up our everyday items I was shocked to see sugar in one form or another is in almost everything! 

Some are more obvious than others

  • Baked beans and soups
  • Salad cream and low fat mayonnaise
  • Balsamic vinegar and dressings
  • Stir fry sauces
  • Tomato ketchup and other condiments
  • Yogurt
  • Ham and other cooked meats
  • Frozen foods such as alpha bites
  • Savoury snacks and crisps

If you do get the opportunity to take your time in the supermarket to check the ingredients, have a look for sugar in its other forms 

  • Dextrose
  • Fructose
  • Honey
  • Syrup
  • Lactose
  • Molasses
  • Maltodextrain

There are so many others. Take a look at this article it makes an interesting and informative read.

http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/nutrition_articles.asp?id=1663&page=2

Read the article and watch the documentary on BBC iPlayer and let me know what you think.

4 thoughts on “Addicted to sugar

  1. Hidden sugars are so deceiving. Crisps and other savoury things contain sugars. I would sometimes encourage Faye to have some quavers or something rather than sweets or chocolate, I know there’s not as much sugar in crisps but it’s still there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

